Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


Having used both, I expected to come to a clear decision as to which one I preferred. However, although both are labelled as ‘Dark Spot Correctors’, in my experience, I found them to be completely different products.                         I have fair skin and am prone to dark spots – when I forget to apply sun protection I get dark spots almost immediately, although those on my body don’t bother me as much, the few on my face irked me enough to make me try out Clinique’s Even Better Dark Spot Corrector.

https://i2.wp.com/images.bloomingdales.com/is/image/BLM/products/1/optimized/1149821_fpx.tif

Clinique Even Better Clinical Dark Spot Corrector 30ml – £40 ; 50 ml – £56 ; 100ml – £89

When I read reviews on this corrector, some reported that using this product on their whole face meant that although their dark spots faded, the surrounding skin also lightened which maintained the disparity in colour; wanting to avoid this, I chose to localise application as much as possible by applying small amounts directly onto my dark spots with a pointed cotton bud. Clinique advises that users generally see visible results within 3 months, when applied twice a day, and a coloured progress chart is also provided to help you see the developments. I have nothing but good things to say about Clinique’s Dark Spot Corrector. I saw huge results within a couple of weeks of use and I only applied once a day during the evenings. The lightest/newest of my dark spots had either completely faded or faded significantly, and older, darker spots were lightening. The serum has a light silky texture which is easily absorbed by your skin, and I experienced no greasiness – however, this may be due to the fact that I localised application rather than applying it to a general area. An excellent ‘feature’ of this product is the fact that it comes in a pump applicator – it keeps the serum as stable as possible and prevents the chances of oxidisation which cause the active ingredients to become ineffective. If you have dark spots, I highly recommend you try this out!

Garnier Dark Spot Corrector

I first heard about this product in 2012 from beauty vlogger and newscaster Emily Noel from the beautybroadcast – video here, in which her elegant mother shared her beauty favourites, and attributed this for her fading age spots. Garnier labels this as a Daily Illuminating Moisturiser as well as a Dark Spot Corrector, but unfortunately, I found it fell short of the latter claim. I saw no change in my remaining dark spots after using it for the recommended three months, although my skin was brighter and more radiant in appearance from first use. The texture is creamier in comparison to Clinique’s Dark Spot Corrector, though not as thick as a moisturiser. Unlike the Clinique Dark Spot Corrector, I attempted to use this twice a day, however this is where I encountered problems. When using this in the day time, you will need to apply additional sun protection as this product doesn’t contain any SPF and found that when I applied any additional cream on top, this caused the product to rub off, something I can only describe as akin to the effects of using a sloughing gel. My friend C who used this also found that this product did not work well with primers or with makeup, and experienced the same ‘sloughing’ effect, and as a result this product was only used in the evenings. I also found that this product made my oily skin even oilier. Overall, I would recommend this moisturiser for those seeking to brighten their complexions but not as a solution for dark spots; those with oily skins may also want to exercise caution lest this product exacerbates the situation!

N.B. Always remember that with ANY skin brightening/Dark Spot Corrector you use, you must also use sunscreen not only to preserve the results, but because often the active ingredients actually cause your skin to become photosensitive which can worsen your complexion when it is exposed to the sun!

AP

