Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,


http://www.polyvore.com/cgi/img-thing?.out=jpg&size=l&tid=27574588

Breath of God Solid Perfume by Lush – £7 available at Lush

Breath of God is possibly the most polarising scent i’ve come across -the only way to describe it would be that it is a perfume of paradoxes. Yes, I too cringed at how pretentious that just sounded, but for me it accurately reflects the notes in this.

It simultaneously manages to smell of fresh air and rain in the ethereal way you tend to imagine it, but also with an intense smokeyness, not sooty like the blackened bricks of a fireplace but like the comforting smell of diesel (yes, I’m weird). On top of that, you get hits of neroli, rose and jasmine. Breath of God is the marmite of Lush/Gorilla Perfumes, it divides opinions with its name alone. If you were to ask me whether I loved or hated this scent, the answer would be different depending on when I was wearing it.

In warmer climes, Breath Of God smells overwhelmingly medicinal, of herbs like rosemary and sage and becomes a lot muskier. During the colder months, it smells more of “air” on my skin with hints of floral smokeyness and mellows to become pleasantly woody, of cedar and sandalwood. It is the latter which I prefer between the two. I also think that with this scent, the difference the solid perfume and the atomiser is dramatic. I perceive far more notes and complexity from the solid perfume and believe this has to do with the way it melts and develops into the skin.

I highly recommend you test this strange scent at your nearest lush store, as like any scent, it changes depending on the wearer, and even more so with Breath of God. A final note to make is that though Lush perfumes are marketed towards neither male nor female, some may find the muskiness and smokeyness of this perfume more masculine, but I implore you to suspend your predispositions and give it a go.

AP

