Tags

, , , , , ,


Unfortunately, the bad news is Aldi hasn’t started selling Dermologica’s Daily Microfoliant. The good news, is that even if they did, i’m 100% sure that this popular alternative is better for your skin and your wallet.

Demologica’s Daily Microfoliant is a rice-based exfoliating powder that you combine with water to form a scrub. Having been given a few samples by a friend, I have to admit I was impressed. Considering it was a fine powder, I didn’t expect much by way of exfoliation, but it did so, while leaving my skin smooth and soft without the feeling of abraision that mose exfoliators give.

https://i0.wp.com/www.rm-uk.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/dermalogica-daily-microfoliant.jpg

What I wasn’t terribly impressed by though, was the price. Retailing At £41.30 for 75g it prompted me to take a closer look at the ingredient list. I discovered that what was being sold is essentially a combination of talc, rice bran, a healthy dose of parabens and a couple of plant extracts which lets face it, don’t stay on your skin long enough for you to benefit from.

Now, i’m not funadamentally against non-natural products but £41.30 for something that markets itself as rice based, and then has talc and a whole host of chemicals higher up the ingredient list before it even mentions rice, it dawned on me that I could cut straight to the rice extract listed as Oryza Sativa (Rice Bran).

Rice bran has been used in the orient for aeons as part of skincare regimens, favoured for its skin softening and brightening effects. In fact, the whole range of renowned Japanese skincare brand SK-II is based on the properties of rice – Its history dates back to the 1970’s when a scientist noticed the soft and youthful hands of the workers at a rice wine brewery, and after years of research, discovered the proteins in the rice which had this effect, and is now marketed as Pitera.

And so here is my version of the Daily Microfoliant: Simply, Rice Bran Powder. I have read many a blog post, and watched many a youtube video which advocate the use of ground rice or rice flour, but these are not the same as Rice Bran – Rice Bran contains the enzymes most beneficial to your skin and is located in the husks of the rice grain which is often discarded before being sold in stores as rice, or ground to make rice flour.

Rice Bran is easily sourced online, though make sure to check that the ingredient list contains only rice bran and nothing else. I get mine from here at the cost of £3.27 (minus postage charges) for 227g, which should last for months, if not years depending on how often you use it.

Use as much as you would the daily microfoliant – approx. 1/2 – 1 teaspoon’s worth mixed with a little water/green tea/your favourite toner to form a paste to make a gentle scrub and apply.

As you can see from the above picture, the bran is not as white as the daily microfoliant, but I take this as a reassuring sign that it contains no unnecessary additives such as talc and oxides. The texture is still smooth, though not as finely ground as the daily microfoliant which I find makes this a better exfoliator. Now for the effect – I’ve found that pure Rice Bran gives you not only soft, cleansed skin without grating your skin like a St.Ives’ scour scrub, but it has actually visibly brightened my complexion and faded blemishes and dark spots from within a week of use.

Go get yourself some Rice Bran and tell me your experiences in the comments below -though I suspect I already know what you’ll have to report back.

AP

 

 

 

 

