Tags

, , , , ,


Subjected to ravings about the Clarisonic by my go-to-for-all-things-beauty-related-friend C, I’m well aware of the wonders it can do to benefit your skin and ‘#changemylifecompletely’. Although I fully acknowledge the latent powers of this sonic brush, the need to charge it – let alone the need to change the brush head every 2 months for the cost of unlimited broadband, was frankly too much of a bother, no matter how much it promised to reduce the appearance of my pores.

I must confess, I hadn’t ever found a problem with the tools that I had been given – my hands; and if extra help is needed, there is no shortage of exfoliators on the market which promise to buff, or sandblast your face off if you so chose. However, I have to concede that even in the times when I do grate layers of my epidermis, my skin feels not so much cleansed, rather, as it does raw.

And here’s where the Muji Hinoki Face Brush comes in.

Refreshingly simple, unadorned, and exactly what you’d expect from minimalistic japanese design (I appear to have contracted a case of the McCloud), I came across this brush in Muji during one of my many fresh-start-emerging-from-a-chrysalis-moments, in the depths of exam season, where I deluded myself that new stationery would change my whole approach to revision. Suffice to say, like all my trips to Muji, it didn’t. My approach to my skincare routine though, did.

https://i1.wp.com/37.media.tumblr.com/ec93a36fd314edccc9ee1e42bacba0fc/tumblr_mi6runWpAu1rh1wv4o1_500.gif

The bristles on the brush are satisfyingly soft to the touch, and I use by first wetting the brush and applying whatever cleanser I happen to be using (preferably one with a foamy consistency), and gently brushing into a lather all over my face avoiding the eye area. This is where I have to admit that after using this brush, I feel as if I have Kärcher‘d and given myself a deep clean and made my pores -especially the ones on my nose – visibly clearer, which I believe makes your skin more receptive to the products that follow in your skin care routine. I use this brush at the very most 2-3 times a week in the evenings (those with more sensitive skin should consider fewer uses, and those with extremely sensitive skin should perhaps give this a miss), due to an opportune combination of my slothenliness, and the dangers of overuse to the capillaries on my skin.

Although there are no guidelines on how long it should be used, I’d recommended that you’d change your brush (with regular cleaning – at the end of each use and a weekly deep clean) at least as often as you do your toothbrush in the interests of hygiene. At the price of a toothbrush, retailing at £3.95 online and in Muji stores, the Hinoki Face Brush is definite must for those into low-tech, low-maintenance, skin care.

AP

