Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Having been recommended and given a sample of Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate by my close friend C, I was impressed with the way it left my skin feeling supple and was converted to the idea of treating my face like a plate of salad. I promptly bought a full sized bottle – though at £36 pounds a go, I was open to a less expensive alternative that would do equally as well when it ran out – only I found that Dr Organic’s ‘Moroccan Argan Oil Facial Oil’, did it better.

https://i2.wp.com/images.drorganic.co.uk/products/large/83.jpg(halved argan nut, or perhaps a gluttonous crème caramel? – this had no bearing on my decision to purchase whatsoever, promise)

At first, I couldn’t decide between this and the Dr Organic Rose Otto Facial Serum, but swayed by my current enthusiasm for argan oil products, which frankly, have performed miracles in taming my hair (another blog post entirely!), I decided to go for the above facial oil.

Now, although it’s predominantly advertised as argan oil, this facial oil in fact appears to be composed of all the botanicals from kew gardens a blend of many different oils and extracts, which for the curious, I shall list:

  • Argan Oil
  • Argan Extract
  • Sweet Almond Oil
  • Camellia Flower Oil
  • Sunflower Seed Oil
  • Jojoba Oil
  • Meadowfoam Oil
  • Kuikui seed Oil
  • Moringa Seed Oil
  • Rosehip Oil
  • Orange Fruit Extract
  • Clove Oil
  • Geranium Oil
  • Lemon Peel Oil
  • Patchouli Oil
  • Cinnamon Leaf Oil
  • Rosewood Oil
  • Wild Mint Oil
  • Mandarin Peel Oil
  • Vanilla Fruit Extract
  • Spearmint Oil
  • Vitamin E

Now, ignoring the suppressed lawyer in me that can’t decide whether this bountiful blend of 23 different oils renders the name ‘Morocccan Argan Oil Facial Oil’ a misrepresentation or fraud, the remnants of my sanity untouched by the law, is impressed by the amount of ‘bioactives’ in the tastefully frosted, 30ml glass bottle -and its promise of granting immortality.

Conveniently, the screw-lid top comes with a dropper attached which appeases my OCD tendencies -and incidentally, also allows you to moderate how much of the elixir oil you choose to dispense. Dr Organic recommends that you use a couple of drops after moisturising in the evening, and before moisturising during the day, however I personally use this oil on its own in place of a moisturiser, and find it more than sufficient. In the cooler months though, when your flaky skin can turn a pâtissier green with envy (or those with dry skin), I’d definitely recommended trying this with your moisturiser for an extra boost.

Usually, I dispense and rub 2-3 drops onto my fingertips to first warm the oil, and apply by gently patting the oil onto my face. I find this administers just the right amount without overwhelming my pores.  Having said that, the beauty of this oil is that it absorbs rather rapidly, saving you from the danger of this:

From the first application, I definitely felt it made my skin incredibly supple, and the results continued to improve the next morning. It made me look healthy – like someone who glows from actually doing regular exercise. I’ve been using this oil for a while now (the bottle still looks full), and can also report that i’ve noticed it has improved, and evened out my skin tone. At £14.99 a bottle – currently on sale at £11.24 at Holland & Barrett, I can’t recommend this oil enough. As for the Dr Organic Rose Otto Facial Serum which boasts an equally extensive list of ingredients, and is even cheaper than this Argan Facial Oil, i’ve put it firmly on my list for the next time I happen to be at Holland & Barrett, which I suspect will be sooner, rather than later.

What facial oils/serums do you recommend?

 

AP

 

 

