Tags

, , , , , ,


Often accompanying the phases where I promise myself to eat healthily, my skincare follows suit – by which I mean, for a period, I become slightly marginale and become increasingly susceptible to words such as ‘bio-organics’. Now lets make one thing clear, I have my limits.  When it comes to ‘natural skincare’ I have no time for products that are as ineffectual as they are natural, and I do not believe in holding natural products to a lesser standard than you would non-natural products, because frankly, what’s the point? natural or non natural, if it doesn’t work, I will not re-purchase something for naturalness’ sake. So naturally (see what I did there?), when I do discover products that work just as well, or even better than their apparently deathly toxic counterparts, I get a very little excited.

It was during one of these phases that I first discovered Dr Organic’s products, while slowly suffering from anxiety over the lack of vitamins and supplements in my life, browsing in Holland and Barrett (overwhelmed by the shelves before me, at one point, I considered whether I should have taken advantage of a menopause supplement that was in the penny sale). It had never occured to me previously to buy my skincare at a health food and supplement shop – admittedly, it seemed rather odd, having been more used to buying my skincare products at chemists, cosmetic counters and stores. But the concept slowly began to make more sense – if you trust such a store enough with your inner and physical wellbeing, why not also with your skincare?

Surprisingly, Holland & Barrett have quite an extensive range of natural personal care brands, but I was immediately drawn to the ranges that Dr Organic had on offer. I know it’s contradictory of me to say so, but even though I like to indulge in natural skincare, the packaging is often make or break for me. Whilst I don’t expect luxe, neither do I expect the rustic styles that may cut it for things like ‘artisan’ soap (why must everything touted as ‘organic’ or ‘natural’, always seem to come wrapped up in raffia). The more a product looks like it could have been concoted by anyone someone who gathered weeds ‘botanicals’ from their garden, and stuffed (or is that ‘distilled’?) them into a jar, the less confidence I have in that product. Thankfully, Dr Organic greeted me with clean and sleek packaging – just like you’d expect with your ‘normal’ skincare products.

https://i1.wp.com/www.drorganic.co.uk/images/about/base.png
An example of Dr Organic’s Organic Aloe Vera Range

On trend with the natural ‘super’ ingredients du jour, Dr Organic offers 12 ranges which include:

  • Organic Aloe Vera
  • Organic Pomegranate
  • Organic Tea Tree
  • Organic Vitamin E
  • Organic Lavender
  • Organic Manuka Honey
  • Organic Virgin Olive Oil
  • Organic Royal Jelly
  • Organic Rose Otto
  • Organic Virgin Coconut Oil
  • Organic Moroccan Argan Oil
  • Organic Dead Sea Mineral Oil

Each range offers a similar array of products that you’d expect in a full skincare routine, from cleansers and toners through to creams and oils, all promising beneficial antiageingoxidantsandrejuvenatingessentialoilsandacids. And so having assessed my ailments, I filled my basket with the following:

  • Rose Otto Skin Toner
  • Moroccan Argan Oil Facial Oil
  • Virgin Olive Oil Soap
  • Organic Vitamin E Pure Oil

Dr Organic products are expensive – though only if you were to judge them as you would something strangled in raffia. That would be rather unfair however, as you should really hold Dr Organic in the same esteem you would your regular brands, that lets face it, you hold to a lesser standard than you would a ‘natural product’, in it’s efficacy. Dr Organic is well worth the money for its products that I found performed remarkably well – particularly when you take advantage of Holland and Barrett’s frequent 3 for 2 offers and penny sales.  Having used these products for a while now, I can report that when I do use them, they do wonders for my skin. I shall do an individual write-up for each of these products in due course, as lumping them together in one post wouldn’t do them justice.

What are your experiences with natural skincare products?

 

AP

 

 

 

 

 

